IATSE Local 706 has announced that the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients will be Emmy-nominated make-up artist Leonard Engelman and Oscar and Emmy-nominated hairstylist Barbara Lorenz; and producer, director and screenwriter Ryan Murphy will receive the Distinguished Artisan Award. The three will be presented the awards on Feb. 19 at the annual Make-up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards, held at The Novo by Microsoft at L.A. Live. The awards will honor make-up artists’ and hairstylists’ outstanding achievements in motion pictures, television, commercials and live theater.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to those artists whose body of work in the film industry consistently enhances make-up and hairstyling artistry. Past recipients include Ve Neill, Yolanda Toussieng, Rick Baker, Montague “Monty” Westmore, Bob Schiffer, John Chambers, Jack Pierce, Daniel Striepeke and Dick Smith. This is the second year that the Lifetime Achievement Awards were decided via an open voting process; past honorees were announced with the complete list of Guild Awards nominees.

Engelman has worked in the industry for more than 50 years. He is the first governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch, on which he currently serves. He has been chairman of the academy’s Executive Committee for 27 years. Engelman earned Emmy nominations for his work on Night Gallery and Jackie Bouvier Kennedy Onassis, and won two Make-up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards for Tea with Mussolini and Running Mates. His work spans film, television, commercials, music videos and editorial and can be seen in the original Ghostbusters, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Oz the Great and Powerful, Sleepless in Seattle, Moonstruck, Burlesque and more.

Lorenz is an Oscar and Emmy-nominated hairstylist with more than 100 film credits including La La Land, The Nice Guys, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, X-Men: The Last Stand, Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World and more. She started her career working in television on the Mary Tyler Moore Show and The Bob Newhart Show. Her work in The Time Machine earned her an Oscar nomination in 2003. Two years later, she earned an Emmy nomination for the ABC television movie Their Eyes Were Watching God.

IATSE Local 706 president Sue Cabral-Ebert said in a press release, “Leonard Engelman and Barbara Lorenz bodies of work of are legendary, and we are proud to rank them among the best in the history of our profession. They are extraordinary artists and accomplished leaders in the industry, and it is our pleasure to name them as this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients.”

The Distinguished Artisan Award is given to those whose body of work in the film industry was richly enhanced by the consistent collaboration of make-up and hairstyling artistry, creating memorable characters throughout their career. Four-time Emmy winner Murphy began his career as a journalist, eventually turning his penmanship towards a career in film and television. His credits include Nip/Tuck, Glee, American Crime Story, Scream Queens, American Horror Story and more. He won Emmys for GleeThe Normal Heart and American Crime Story.

“We’re excited to bestow our 2017 Distinguished Artisan Award on Ryan Murphy, who constantly raises the bar and challenges the skills of our members to their utmost abilities when delineating his television characters. He has always shown strong support while working in collaboration with our make-up artists and hair stylists,” said Cabral-Ebert.

For voting deadlines and more on the Guild Awards, visit local706.org.