Last night, Lois Burwell was elected first vice president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization’s Board of Governors.

Burwell is a highly seasoned make-up artist whose film credits include Saving Private Ryan (1999 Academy Award nomination for make-up), The Green Mile, Braveheart (won the 1996 Academy Award for make-up), Catch Me If You Can, The Princess Bride and The Last Samurai.

In 2015, Burwell became governor for the Makeup Artists and Hair Stylists branch of the academy—a position with a three-consecutive term limit. Along with her new role as vice president, Burwell will serve as chair of the Awards and Events Committee.

Burwell will serve on the board alongside newly elected president John Bailey. The 54-person board also includes several Hollywood heavyweights such as Steven Spielberg, Whoopi Goldberg and Tom Hanks.

Other officers elected to one-year positions at last night’s board meeting are Kathleen Kennedy (VP) also serving as chair of the Museum Committee; Michael Tronick (VP) also serving as chair of the Preservation and History Committe; Nancy Utley (VP) also serving as chair of the Education and Outreach Committee; Jim Gianopulos (Treasurer) also serving as chair of the Finance Committee; and David Rubin (Secretary) also serving as chair of the Membership and Administration Committee.

For a full listing of the academy’s 2016-17 Board of Governors, click here.