Lois Burwell | Photo MA archive

In July, Academy Award-winning make-up artist Lois Burwell became the newest governor for the Makeup Artists and Hair Stylists branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She replaces the acclaimed Leonard Engelman, who has served the maximum of three consecutive terms and is now termed out for at least a one year period.

Engleman said of his term, “It has been a great honor to serve as a Chairperson, Governor and Vice President of such an outstanding organization that recognizes and promotes the artistry of film making.”

Burwell won the Academy Award for Makeup for the film Braveheart in 1996 and was nominated in 1999 for Saving Private Ryan. Her extensive film work includes Highlander (1986), The Princess Bride (1987), Hamlet (1990), The Fifth Element (1997), War of the Worlds (2005), Lincoln (2012) and many others. She has collaborated with Steven Spielberg on five of his films.

Burwell joins current governors Bill Corso, make-up artist, and Kathryn Blondell, hairstylist, both elected in 2013. To be nominated, members had to have a minimum of seven years’ experience in theatrical films; they needed to have held a supervisory role in at least five of those films. The branch governors attend committee meetings and vote on films in contention for the Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling Oscar, among other duties.

Read about Burwell’s transformation of Daniel Day Lewis into Abraham Lincoln in Issue 100.