Updated Feb. 27

Suicide Squad
Suicide Squad

Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson won the 2017 Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling Oscar for their work on Suicide Squad at the 89th Academy Awards, held Feb. 26 at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. This is the first Oscar win for all three artists. 

Bertolazzi, Gregorini and Nelson
Giorgio Gregorini, Alessandro Bertolazzi and Christopher Nelson accept the Academy Award for Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling | Photo by Aaron Poole / ©A.M.P.A.S.

Nelson said after winning, “You go into it trying to interpret a story and tell the story, and tell the story that the director is trying to tell. So you go into it creating a character that an audience can relate to. And hopefully we did that. It seems like we did.”

Follow the links for an exclusive narrated video clip from the 2017 Oscar winners and for our complete Oscar Watch 2017 coverage.